Monday, July 11, 2016

'Riches' now playing @ Anacostia Playhouse

Anacostia Playhouse is proud to present two powerful, emotional plays in repertory this summer helmed by two of our favorite directors.

Riches by Lee Blessing and directed by long-time friend, collaborator and colleague Paul Douglas Michnewicz, was first produced under the title War of the Roses (later to become a well-known film). It tells the story of David and Carolyn Rich who “have it all,” in a powerful, disturbing study of a family divided against itself. On their anniversary the Riches return to their honeymoon hotel where Carolyn calmly and unexpectedly announces she wants a divorce. Seducing us with humor and well timed, weighted dialogue, Mr. Blessing then takes the cleverly invented characters through to a chilling end. Featuring Dana Galloway and Adele Robey. TICKETS

Paul Douglas Michnewicz is a founder and a former Artistic Director for Theater Alliance. He has directed at the Kennedy Center, Lisner Auditorium and Strathmore. He is currently the Director of Arts and Events in Reston where he has presented Anna Deavere Smith, Julian Sands, Stephen Lang and Sweet Honey in the Rock among others. He holds an MFA from the Yale School of Drama.

Remember that when you use the code WEDS all Wednesday night tickets are only $10. Thank you!

Riches Performance Schedule
Wednesday, July 20, 2016, 8PM
Thursday, July 21, 2016, 8PM
Friday, July 22, 2016, 8PM
Saturday, July 23, 2016, 3PM Matinee
Saturday, July 23, 2016, 8PM
Sunday, July 24, 2016, 3PM Matinee
Wednesday, August 3, 2016, 8PM
Thursday, August 4, 2016, 8PM
Friday, August 5, 2016, 8PM
Saturday, August 6, 2016, 3PM Matinee
Saturday, August 6, 2016, 8PM
Sunday, August 7, 2016, 3PM Matinee

No comments: